T.A.T.T.

Friends: Freddy the Dalmatian and his best mate Harley.

The good Dr Crippen has blogged previously about a condition that’s enough to make GPs switch off: TATT (tired all the time)

This is a heartsink symptom. If you are feeling TATT, find some different words or the doctor’s eyes will glaze over.

Well I’m feeling TATT at the moment, and have been since Christmas. It’s really annoying. I have no other symptoms, I just feeling knackered – constantly. I’ve been sleeping 12 to 17 hours a day (more than Inky the cat) and wake up feeling more exhausted than when I went to bed. It’s as if my body is trying to catch up with all the sleep deprivation I’ve experienced over the last few years.

I thought about dropping round to see my GP but I’ve no idea what to tell him. I’ve checked all my own vitals; even going so far as to see if I had a UTI. Of course not, there’s nothing wrong. I don’t have a cold or any aches and pains though there has been a low grade headache, but that’s nothing new with me. My appetite’s fine and I still find myself dipping into that tin of choccys! So I’ve taken a few days off work. Hopefully I’ll either wake up raring to go or some other symptom(s) will appear that might suggest I have something ‘going on’.

Meantime I’m going to curl up on the settee with a good book.

7 Responses to T.A.T.T.

  1. kimthevet says:

    Hope you’re feeling better soon.

  2. Kingmagic says:

    I,ve been feeling the same.

    I think its the dreaded “cold” creeping up. At one time, many moons ago, you got “cold”, dealt with it (or not) and cracked on with life.

    Now it seems like the “cold” attacks in dribs and drabs, first comes the tiredness, then the cotton wool in the head feeling, then the nose starts with all manner of manifestations, the aches and the chills etc.

    Its a sneaky old virus the “cold” and I think it has mutated into a “non-specific” illness so that by a process of creeping up on us, it can catch us unawares!

    Bring back the “plague” and “anthrax” and “smallpox.”
    At least we knew where we were with the old fashioned ailments!

  3. Millietant says:

    Hesitate to offer my opinion, such as it is, but will let you have it anyway!
    Think this time of year has the same effect on lots of people and magnifies how you feel.
    ‘Berocca’ is good as a tonic ( have no connections to the company and am not on commission but it’s very good) can get it at most supermarkets.

  4. Padago says:

    Hey

    Sorry you are feeling under the weather.

    Perhaps you should visit the Doctors, what will you tell him?

    Mmmm,,, “Doc I’m feeling under the weather and sleeping 17 hrs a day etc..”

    You just never know, try it out.

    Godo luck, and good blog.

  5. Geordon says:

    How long has this been going on? I know that when my depression medication was screwed up, I was doing this, too, for almost a month.

    Then, got the meds fixed and everything was much better. 6-10 hours a day (depending) is SO much better, sleep wise.

    Good luck and here’s hoping that it’s just a touch of holiday-time exhaustion.

  6. Angela says:

    I’m doing a bit of the long sleeping hours at the moment and feeling rather lazy. But personally I have always found then when I indulge my desire to sleep 12+ hours I end up feeling tireder and more lethargic then if I had forced myself out of bad earlier. I find there comes a point when more sleep just makes you worse, which is a bummer really as I love to sleep.

    Hope you feel better soon.

  7. […] Well, as I said in my last post, I spent yesterday afternoon snuggled up on the settee reading a book. For a bit of light relief, at the moment I’m reading Ratcatcher by James McGee. It takes place in Regency London. The hero’s Matthew Hawkwood; ex serviceman (95th rifles) who now works as a Bow Street Runner “a special constable – one of seven to be precise” “with carte blanche to get the job done” (JB?) He reports to the Chief Magistrate – the all seeing, all knowing ‘boss’ with links to the secret service (M?). Outside the office is the ever present PR person with information, contacts, etc – all sound familiar? […]

Leave a Reply

