Spare A Thought For The Dog

Both at the mercy of adults

“You were right”, he said, as I unloaded some kit from the car. Being 3 am, cold and miserable I really had no idea what he was talking about. He proudly displayed the ‘moonboot’ splint he had on. “I did break my leg”. Recognition slowly dawned, it was Kevin, who we last met back in mid December. That would explain why the address seemed familiar but the call was for a young child with ‘abdominal pain’ and there were no children at the property when I last called. I followed Kevin as he hobbled up the 5 flights of stairs to the flat. “Hey, look who’s turned up”, he hollered in the front door. I was already bracing myself for the putrid atmosphere and thick smoke and was relieved to find it wasn’t as bad as I feared. They’d had a slight clear up; the mushroom-farm mattress had gone, to be replaced by some rickety Ikea bed and the dog and been booted out of his corner – he was now confined to somewhere behind the television.

The two gorillas, who’d been present when I got called to Kevin, were in attendance but tonight’s call was for Emily. She’s only 3 and looked quite unwell, though she engaged with me happily enough, which was just as well as she was the only one who made any sense; luckily she had an I.Q. that outshone the rest of the them put together; particularly Mum who was struggling to string more than three words together. Mum, too, seemed familiar and it was only later that I discovered that I’d been out to her at her normal abode – the local women’s refuge. Now she was shacked up with the larger of the two gorillas who rents the flat. The place is hardly big enough for one gorilla never mind a vulnerable woman and a young child.

Emily told me her tummy hurt and it was painful when she went to the toilet – to emphasis the point she promptly vomited over the settee, the floor and subsequently Mum’s jacket. To be honest it would hardly be noticed, the floor was still littered with the remains of take-away dinners and fag ends and a set of dog bowls – just like last time. It’s the sort of place where you wipe your feet on the way out.

Now I’m no expert on children but I think it’s fair to say that 3 year olds spend a fair amount of time on the floor and are still at an age where they like investigating their environment by putting things in their mouths. Given the state of the floor goodness knows what Emily had found to sample and no wonder she was ill. I really felt for her – what a start in life. Mum’s already been through the refuge which is hardly conducive to bringing up a young child and now poor Emily finds herself stuck in what can only be described as a “shit-hole”.

I took Emily and Mum up to A&E, if only to get Emily out of there; but what about the dog? At least everyone else had the opportunity to leave if they wanted to but the dog was stuck there and it’s no place for a dog and certainly not for Emily.

10 Responses to Spare A Thought For The Dog

  1. Murphy says:

    Yes, we don’t get a chance to pick and choose our owners do we.

  2. Iain MacBain says:

    I wish there was more we could do to get children out of situations like this. It makes me really mad when I see someone subjecting a kid to their scum lifestyles. They dont deserve to be parents.

    Hopefully the dog will rip out their throats while they sleep someday.

  3. angelis mortis says:

    So true…. Job’s like that break my heart because you know that nothing will ever change and the kiddies grow up being exposed to things they should never have to deal with.

  4. I’m convinced my friend Lisa is going to end up like this with her poor little boy.
    Fingers crossed they won’t. xx

  5. nicenurse says:

    Maybe if the nhs were to treat pets ( http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/england/suffolk/6095652.stm ), we could take them to the hospital as well!! As least he seemed house trained, which is more than can be said for some of our patients!!

    Nicenurse

  6. ecparamedic says:

    I hate jobs like this, you need a licence for a TV…………

    SD

  7. Lucy says:

    We should also spare a thought for the poor stray beast which was forgotten about in a police station and died.

    http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/scotland/edinburgh_and_east/6289925.stm

    Lucy

  8. Iain MacBain says:

    I applied for a job in Kuwait, over there the vets bills ARE covered by their nhs system. Never got the job but it would of been hot.

    Could be China has it right with the breeding thing. never thought i’d say that!

  9. Energy Gal says:

    I feel sorry for the child. I once was seeing someone who had a 3 year old son, and over a couple of months this boy was taken into hosiptal about 3 times suffering from gastroenteritis, which as I’m sure you all know can be very serious for a 3 yr old.

    It turned out that the mother of the child lived in one of these ‘shitholes’, old chinese takaways on the floor, cat pee, clumps of flith and dust on the mattress on the floor etc etc. Well, as was said, the child would pick at the old festering chinese and whatever else is about and as a result kept becoming desperatlely sick and collapsing here there and everywhere.

    I am glad to say that the father ended up getting custody and marrying again and having another baby, thus creating a loving family unit, (and I say whilst personally depising the father, but regardless he was a good dad)

    Makes you wonder how different that situation would have been if the mother had of used a bin bag and a hoover.

  10. Osip Nawal says:

    So Ill see you man tomorro. Osip Nawal.

Leave a Reply

