Away

Angkor Wat – Siem Reap, Cambodia

I’m off again: it’s been far too long since I ‘headed out‘ and this time I’m travelling to Cambodia. Friends will know that ‘wanderlust‘ is in the Magwitch family blood – my ancestors, dating back to the 18th century, were all itinerant performers and I’ve been carted off around the world since early childhood. My last major trip was across Turkey, Syria and Jordan – a wonderful month and a half spent amongst some of the friendliest people I’ve ever met: particularly in Syria which I just adored – terrible food mind, despite being a neighbour to Lebanon whose cuisine is heaven. Sadly all my photos from that trip are on slide film and I still haven’t got around to converting them to digital.

Usually these adventures are just me, my camera and an itinerary that I make up as I go along, but this time it’s a little different. I met up with Lesley from Gecko Travel at the Daily Telegraph Adventure Show back in January and I’m booked on an organised trip which will also combine a photographic course under the guidance of renown freelance photographer Nathan Horton. Hopefully I’ll come back with a half-decent snap or two. I’ve got my Canon EOS 350 plus lenses and my PowerShot A20 already to go plus the most important thing you can ever take with you when travelling – a smile (never underestimate the power of a smile to a stranger).

Fingers crossed we’re not going to encounter any arrogant Brits along the way – unfortunately the most hideous people I’ve ever met when travelling are ignorant, load mouthed Brits who won’t attempt the language, the food or the culture and are generally obnoxious to everyone.

There’ll be no blogging for a few weeks. I hope to set up a small web-site with the photos (assuming there’s anything decent) upon my return.

Until next time….

26 Responses to Away

  1. Kingmagic says:

    Good luck and have a safe journey.
    You never know, things may be better when you get back.
    All the best.

  2. traineeparamedic says:

    Have a good trip!

  3. Millietant says:

    Safe journey.
    Have a great adventure.

  4. “unfortunately the most hideous people I’ve ever met when travelling are ignorant, load mouthed Brits who won’t attempt the language, the food or the culture and are generally obnoxious to everyone.”
    LOL! It’s not just the British! I did a trip to China with a bunch of Americans like that. They were ecstatic when we finally arrived in Hong Kong and they headed off to the Hard Rock Cafe. One comented that she was looking forward to a milkshake – her first milk product in over 3 weeks. I asked why she hadn’t had any milk, yogurt or cheese in China? Although many Chinese are lactose intolerant, they provided those foods in the hotels. She hadn’t liked the milk because it was served warm. She hadn’t seen the yogurt because it was not served in little plastic containers with foil tops. She hadn’t wanted the cheese because it was served at breakfast time and “cheese is not breakfast food.” While the others in the group ate bagels, cereal (with cold milk) and yogurt (from plastic containers) for breakfast in the hotel in Hong Kong, I delighted in eating things like teryaki salmon, rice porridge, and steamed buns with pork filling. Why go abroad and eat the same things I would have at home?

    Have a wonderful trip to Cambodia! I’m jealous! Do share your photos and stories on your return please!

  5. Mary says:

    BON VOYAGE!!! Stay safe – and yes, a smile crosses so many barriers.

  6. Teresa says:

    Safe trip…..look forward to your return

  7. Lucy says:

    Have a brilliant time.

    Lucy

  8. Iain MacBain says:

    Before joining the service I was asked to skipper a boat that ran uo the river from the big city to Aktur (bit pissed at the moment so cant remember). Owned by a bunch that work for Operation HALO, Diana’s thing. Look it up and enjoy.

  9. yanczy says:

    Cambodia is in my travel list! Hope to visit there soon and enjoy your trip!

  10. […] Angkor Wat – Siem Reap, Cambodia. I m off again: it s been far too long since I headed out and this time I m travelling to Cambodia. … I just adored – terrible food mind, despite being a neighbour to Lebanon whose cuisine is heaven. … — MORE — […]

  11. Renee says:

    Hi
    I’ve just been to Cambodia with Gecko Travel and it was great. We were the first to arrive at Angkor Wat for sunrise…
    Don’t forget your DEET – I got terribly bitten in the bar at the hotel in Siem Reap.
    Have fun
    Renee

  12. Merys Jones says:

    hurry up and come back, I’m dying to hear how it was?!

  13. Murphy says:

    No 10 tells me you are back, the Mag!

    Or maybe you are confusing people in a Cambodian Internet Cafe!

    Look forward to the pics.

  14. Kim says:

    Blimey its been a long trip, waiting to hear all about it!hope you had a great time

  15. Jo says:

    Do come back Magwitch, we want to see some pictures!

  16. caramaena says:

    Yoohoo, Magwitch… Are you back yet?

  17. Tink says:

    Hmmm… hope the long silence doesn’t mean bad news Magwitch. Or have you just found someone more interesting to play with than us?

  18. Dilated People ECP says:

    Nice, I travelled across Thailand, Cambodia and Vietnam 2 years ago. A couple of things stand out to me, apart from the obvious well trodden sites.
    A $5 massage from the Seeing Hands charity. All the staff are blind and I can confidently say it will be the best.
    Shinookville beach, fantastic. You have to see it and experience the night life on the beach.
    Also firing off a few rounds with an AK47 and M16 was a buzz.
    Good luck and don’t eat the dogs!

  19. Dave M says:

    I wonder what happened, i hope magwitch is fine.

  20. K says:

    magwitch, are you all right?
    We’re getting worried here, please post something!

  21. Iain MacBain says:

    Hope it’s all been fun.Wish it was me but hope all well.

  22. Dave M says:

    im getting worried about magwitch, it been so long. is he lost in Cambodia???

  23. Wanda says:

    Yes were the heck is he?

  24. Sue says:

    Where are you?? You posted a comment on Dr Crippen’s blog so you’re alive out there and not kidnapped by mad Cambodians – unless of course they have internet access!

  25. Hotel Break Stop

    Thanks, Interesting read.

Leave a Reply

